Languages
Content Who? About us Events Submissions Submenu
« back

Issue no. 11

stadtsprachen magazin (2019)

Editorial

Over 100 languages are currently spoken in Berlin – and also written.  The appeal of Berlin as a city of literature continues unabated: the small Berlin Writing Prize for short prose in English alone received well over 300 entries from all over the world this summer, and more than 200 authors* from Berlin who write in other languages than German applied for the ambitious writer’s scholarship of the Senate for “Non-German Literature”. In addition to German and English-language literary magazines, there are literary magazines in Spanish and Portuguese, Russian and French and a growing number of other-language small publishers in this city – Berlin is also a true Babylon of literature in 2019, and the trend is rising. For more than three years, we from stadtsprachen magazin have been diving into this swarm of languages, literatures and voices in search of new faces and interesting texts.

More than a hundred years ago, people dreamed of overcoming the confusion of languages and establishing a simple, worldwide language. The best known planned language with a simple structure and borrowings from many world languages was Esperanto. The inventor of Esperanto, Ludwik Lejzer Zamenhof, grew up in the city of Białystok, now Polish and part of the Russian Empire at that time. Because of the cultural mixture of Poles, Lithuanians, and Germans, he had the idea already in his school days at the end of the 19th century that a neutral language could help to prevent the formation of ghettos and racism – and that in the end it could also be the key to world peace. In this issue, we are now raising a very special treasure with the legacy of the esperantist Manfredo Ratislavo: until his death in June 2018, he devoted himself intensively to the translation of German poetry into Esperanto. We present his extraordinary poetry archive poezio.net with an introduction by his son Max-Gerd Retzlaff, who lives in Berlin, and at the same time would like to remind you of the dream of a worldwide common language. We would also like to pay tribute to the passionate work of a translator who, like many others in this profession, mostly worked in the shadow of the literary world. Berlin’s literary translators are still receiving far too little attention and appreciation for their tireless, creative work in 2019; we will be concerned about this in the coming autumn.

It is precisely thanks to the many great translators that we feel today that Berlin’s Babylonian multilingualism is an enrichment that makes our contemporary literature sparkle in all its colours: 21 authors* (7 men, 14 women), 11 translators and 11 languages (including Esperanto) are published in #11 of the stadtsprachen magazin: An enticing pool of the latest literary discoveries.

For the editorial staff (with Joey Bahlsen, Birger Hoyer and Lea-Liane Winkler),
Martin Jankowski (editor in chief)

 

Contents

Donna Stonecipher: Die Ruinen der Nostalgie 52

Ron Segal: Die Stimme

Max-Gert Retzlaff: Manfred Retzlaff

Federico Federici: Schneesamen

Henry Lyonga: Recipes that teach & Lessons learned

Chun Shu: kindergarten

Lars Jongeblod: Stars

Laurence Ermacova: Solo Album

Megan Voysey: Lateral lines

Esther Andradi: Drei Verräterinnen

Gabriel Don: Manche Leute

Dmitri Dragilew: Gedichte

Nora Amin: البداية الأولى

Greg Nissan: Tour meets at the Moabitian Riviera

Elsye Suquilanda: Augenringe von Saturn

Donna Stonecipher: Die Ruinen der Nostalgie 26

Valeska Brinkmann: Ein Fenster in Berlin

Eve Richens: Tics

Dasom Yang: Genetisch Gesprochen 1

Zehava Khalfa: Owls

Idra Novey: Dein Gruß, Welt

Inna Krasnoper: ди-wait-стой-s[t]ay

≡ Menu ≡
Homepage Content
Events Submissions
Authors Translators Moderators
About us Partners Gallery
Contact Blog Facebook
Festival 2016 Events Press

Sprachen
Inhalt Wer? Über uns Termine Submissions Untermenü
« zurück

Issue no. 11

stadtsprachen magazin (2019)

Editorial

Über 100 Sprachen werden in Berlin derzeit gesprochen – und geschrieben.  Die Anziehungskraft Berlins als Literaturstadt ist ungebrochen, allein der kleine Berlin Writing Prize für englischsprachige Kurzprosa erhielt in diesem Sommer weit über 300 Einsendungen aus aller Welt, mehr als 200 anderssprachige Berliner Autor*innen bewarben sich für das anspruchsvolle Schriftstellerstipendium des Senats für „nichtdeutsche Literatur“ aus Berlin. Es gibt in dieser Stadt neben deutschen und englischsprachigen Literaturmagazinen literarische Zeitschriften auf Spanisch und Portugiesisch, Russisch und Französisch und eine wachsende Zahl anderssprachiger Kleinverlage – Berlin ist auch 2019 ein wahres Babylon der Literatur, Tendenz steigend. In dieses Gewimmel von Sprachen, Literaturen und Stimmen tauchen wir vom stadtsprachen magazin seit mehr als drei Jahren auf der Suche nach neuen Gesichtern und interessanten Texten.
Vor mehr als hundert Jahren träumten die Menschen davon, das Sprachgewirr zu überwinden und eine einfache, weltweite Sprache zu etablieren. Die bekannteste Plansprache mit simpler Struktur und Anleihen aus vielen Weltsprachen war das Esperanto. Der Esperanto-Erfinder Ludwik Lejzer Zamenhof wuchs in der (heute polnischen, damals im Russischen Reich liegenden) Stadt Białystok auf. Wegen des Kulturgemischs aus Polen, Litauern und Deutschen kam ihm bereits in seiner Schulzeit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts der Gedanke, dass eine neutrale Sprache helfen könnte, Ghettobildung und Rassismus zu verhindern – und dass sie letztlich auch der Schlüssel zum Weltfrieden sein könnte. In der vorliegenden Ausgabe heben wir nun mit dem Vermächtnis des Esperantisten Manfredo Ratislavo einen ganz besonderen Schatz: Er hat sich bis zu seinem Tod im Juni 2018 intensiv der Übersetzung deutscher Poesie ins Esperanto verschrieben. Wir stellen sein außergewöhnliches Lyrik-Archiv poezio.net mit einer Einführung durch seinen in Berlin lebenden Sohn Max-Gerd Retzlaff vor und möchten damit zugleich an den Traum von der einen weltweit gemeinsamen Sprache erinnern. Zudem würdigen wir hier die leidenschaftliche Arbeit eines Übersetzers, der wie viele seiner Zunft zumeist im Schatten des Literaturbetriebs arbeitete. Die literarischen Übersetzer*innen Berlins werden mit ihrer unermüdlichen, schöpferischen Arbeit auch 2019 noch viel zu wenig beachtet und gewürdigt; dieser Umstand wird uns im kommenden Herbst beschäftigen.
Gerade auch dank der vielen großartigen Übersetzer*innen empfinden wir die babylonische Vielsprachigkeit Berlins heute als eine Bereicherung, die unsere Gegenwartsliteratur in allen Farben funkeln lässt:  21 Autor*innen (7 Männer, 14 Frauen), 11 Übersetzer*innen und 11 Sprachen (darunter Esperanto) wirken am stadtsprachen magazin #11 mit – ein verlockender Pool neuester literarischer Entdeckungen.

Für die Redaktion (mit Joey Bahlsen, Birger Hoyer und Lea-Liane Winkler),
Martin Jankowski (Herausgeber)

 

Inhalt

Donna Stonecipher: Die Ruinen der Nostalgie 52

Ron Segal: Die Stimme

Max-Gert Retzlaff: Manfred Retzlaff

Federico Federici: Schneesamen

Henry Lyonga: Recipes that teach & Lessons learned

Chun Shu: kindergarten

Lars Jongeblod: Stars

Laurence Ermacova: Solo Album

Megan Voysey: Lateral lines

Esther Andradi: Drei Verräterinnen

Gabriel Don: Manche Leute

Dmitri Dragilew: Gedichte

Nora Amin: البداية الأولى

Greg Nissan: Tour meets at the Moabitian Riviera

Elsye Suquilanda: Augenringe von Saturn

Donna Stonecipher: Die Ruinen der Nostalgie 26

Valeska Brinkmann: Ein Fenster in Berlin

Eve Richens: Tics

Dasom Yang: Genetisch Gesprochen 1

Zehava Khalfa: Owls

Idra Novey: Dein Gruß, Welt

Inna Krasnoper: ди-wait-стой-s[t]ay

≡ Menü ≡
Startseite Inhalt
Termine Submissions
Autor_innen Übersetzer_innen Moderator_innen
Über uns Partner Galerie
Kontakt Blog Facebook
Festival 2016 Events Presse